The Department of Botany was established in 1989 at Old Campus Muzaffarabad. The mission is to discover, maintain, and transmit knowledge concerning basic plant biology and provide leadership in the plant sciences. The department is situated in one of the most diverse and interesting floral kingdoms in the world making it an ideal place for post graduate studies in almost all fields of botany. Being the premier institution in higher education, it is promoting modern research. The degree programs offer studies in molecular, genetic, cellular, and developmental biology, through physiology, structural botany, molecular systematics, taxonomy, ecology, ethnobotany and evolution. Highly qualified faculty is involved in teaching and research in different sections of botany. A variety of courses are offered by the department to address the needs of the society in the field of agriculture, education, environment, horticulture, pharmacognosy, pharmacology, etc. It covers various aspects of current research in Botanical Sciences. The departmental library has a good collection of textbooks and Journals, besides these six computers have been installed for researchers/faculty to access digital library. Currently, botany research laboratory has been established and equipped with all necessary facilities for research students of botany. The department is also engaged in collaborative research with different Universities and research organization like PIEAS and NARC. A herbarium is being established to facilitate the scientists working on different aspects of plant biology. The Department imparts BS, M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D degrees in Botany. The M.Phil and Ph.D. students have to study taught courses and thesis for the partial fulfillment of the degree. The courses are geared towards providing research training in the discipline of Botany. Currently, more than 80 students are perusing M.Phil. and Ph.D. degrees.


Prof. Dr. Ghulam Murtaza
Ph.D. (PAK), Post-Doc (UK)
Phone: +92 5822-960431


Dr. Rehana Kausar, Ph.D. (Pak)
Dr. Syeda Siddiqa Firdous, Ph.D. (Pak)
Dr. Ratooba Shaheen Hashmi Ph.D. (India)
Dr. Tariq Habib, Ph.D. (Pak)
Dr. Hamayun Shaheen, Ph.D. (Pak)
Dr. Muhammad Ejaz Ul Islam Dar, Ph.D. (Thailand)
Mr. Rizwan Taj Khan, M.Phil. (Pak)
Ms. Sidra Qayyum, M.Phil. (Pak)
Ms. Munazza Nazir, M.Phil. (Pak)