Saturday November 18, 2017


Physics (Greek: physikos) is concerned with those aspects of nature which can be understood in a fundamental way in terms of elementary principles and laws; formerly called natural philosophy. It covers the tiniest like quarks in a proton and neutron to the largest like the universe of which our solar system is a minute part. Its original aim even covering this huge range is to understand the structure of the natural world and explain natural phenomena. It is the goal of the Department of Physics to contribute to the understanding and applications of the fascinating aspects of nature, and to offer a solid and attractive curriculum to our young graduates. The Department of Physics was established in 1986 was initially situated at old Campus of the University of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, Muzaffarabad (now known as city campus of the university). Subsequently it was shifted to its newly constructed building at Chehla Bandi Campus in 2003.The Department has fine teaching laboratories one each for, Solid State Physics, Electronics, Nuclear Physics, Computational Physics and Spectroscopy & Modern Physics. Solid State Nuclear Track Detectors (SSNTD) laboratory, Semiconductor and Nanoscience laboratory are also growing up where students can engage themselves in research. Our research projects involve collaboration with other universities/institutions and research & development organizations in Pakistan which include "National Centre for Physics (NCP), Islamabad" and "Pakistan Institute of Nuclear Science and Technology (PINSTECH)". Currently the department of Physics is offering M.Sc., M.Phil. and Ph.D. degree Programme. The programmes in physics are designed with the aim of training our students to have a good grasp of fundamental concepts, general skill and understanding for their important applications in the modern society. To earn the degree of M.Sc. in Physics one must complete 67 credit hours.
Coursework offered in the form of lectures, laboratories,group discussions, problem solving, seminars, and projects comprising core courses, elective courses and advance specialized courses. The M. Phil programme in the Department was started in 2004 with the objective to meet the shortage of highly qualified manpower in the field of Physics by producing graduates with the capacity to conduct research independently. The Department also started Ph.D. programme to produce valuable researchers and scientists. At present there are seven Ph.D. scholars in the department.


Program:    BS Courses Detail
The eligibility criteria for admission in BS 4 years Physics Programme are: • F.Sc with combination of Physics, Mathematics at least in 2nd division. • The age limit at the terminal date of submission of applications should not be greater than 20 years
Scheme of Studies BS
Duration: 8 Semester
Courses & Lab: 116 Credits
Reading and Conference: 0 Credits
Thesis: 6 Credits
Comprehensive Oral Examination: S/U Basis
Internship/Practical training: -1
Total Credit Hours: 122 Credits